Public Concerts

Free Public Concert Series

LMC’s most visible face is its Public Concert Series that offers over 50 free classical music concerts from October through May by LMC member-musicians and guests. The classical music series is presented at a variety of venues throughout the Seattle metro area, including Seattle Art Museum, Frye Art Museum, Seattle Public Library, Central and West Seattle Branches, University House Wallingford, Mirabella, Bellevue’s Crossroads Community Center Theater and the Music Center of the Northwest in North Seattle.

These intimate, one-hour, music programs are free and open to the public. No advance tickets are required. On the day of the performance at the Frye Museum, attendees are asked to obtain a free ticket at the front desk to monitor auditorium seating.

LMC Opera: Russian scenes and arias @ Crossroads Community Center
Nov 9 @ 1:00 pm

Music by Glinka, Mussorgsky, Tchaikovsky, Rimsky-Korsakov and Borodin

Regina Thomas and Meg Daly, sopranos
Dawn Padula and Janene Nelson, mezzo sopranos
Maria Khavin, piano

Spanish music for solo piano, guitar and voice @ Crossroads Community Center
Jan 11 @ 1:00 pm

Music for voice and guitar and solo guitar by Sors, Villa-Lobos, de Falla, Granados and Rodrigo

Diane Althaus, soprano and Victor Lucas (guest artist), guitar

Valses Poeticos by Enrique Granados (1867-1916)

  1. Vivace molto and Melodico
  2. Tempo de Vals noble
  3. Tempo de Vals lento
  4. Allegro humoristico
  5. Allegretto (elegante)
  6. Quasi ad libitum (sentimental)
  7. Vivo
  8. Presto

Suite Espagnola, Asturias (Leyenda) by Isaac Albéniz (1860-1909)

Suite Espagnola, Cuba (Nocturno)

Karin McCullough, piano

Violin sonatas by Beethoven and Grieg @ Crossroads Community Center
Feb 8 @ 1:00 pm
Violin Sonata in G Major, Op. 30, No. 3 by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
  1. Allegro assai
  2. Tempo di Minuetto, ma molto moderato e grazioso
  3. Allegro vivace
Violin Sonata in C Minor, Op. 3, No. 45  by Edvard Grieg (1843 –  1907)
  1. Allegro molto ed appassionato
  2. Allegretto espressivo alla Romanza
  3. Allegro animato
Angie Kam, violin and  Jennifer Li, piano
Free Concert @ Crossroads Community Center
Mar 8 @ 1:00 pm

Program TBA

Schubert trio for violin, cello and piano, op 100. @ Crossroads Community Center
Apr 12 @ 1:00 pm
Cello, Violin and Piano Trio

Trio for violin, cello and piano in Eb major, D. 929/Op. 100 by Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

  1. Allegro
  2. Andante con moto
  3. Scherzando. Allegro moderato
  4. Allegro moderato

Kathy Zufall, violin and Frances Walton, cello
Valentina Rodov, piano