Britannia, the Second

Friday, December 11, 2020 @ 5:00 pm – 5:30 pm
Your home

Metamorphoses after Ovid by Benjamin Britten (1913 – 1976)

Each of the six sections is based on a character from Roman mythology who is briefly described:

  1. Pan, “who played upon the reed pipe which was Syrinx, his beloved.”
  2. Phaeton, “who rode upon the chariot of the sun for one day and was hurled into the river Padus by a thunderbolt.”
  3. Niobe, “who, lamenting the death of her fourteen children, was turned into a mountain.”
  4. Bacchus, “at whose feasts is heard the noise of gaggling women’s tattling tongues and shouting out of boys.”

    Narcissus flower
  5. Narcissus, “who fell in love with his own image and became a flower.”
  6. Arethusa, “who, flying from the love of Alpheus the river god, was turned into a fountain.”

Sharon Jung, oboe

Six Metamorphoses after Ovid, descriptions of movements

Shakespeare Songs, Op. 23 by Roger Quilter (1877-1953)

Mike Dodaro, baritone and Joan Lundquist, piano

Silent Noon, IRV 25, No. 2 by Ralph Vaughan Williams  (1872-1958) – click for full text
from The House of Life, A Cycle of Six Sonnets

Regina Thomas, soprano and Joan Lundquist, piano

Artist Biographies, click here